News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community
March 2017


Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa elected Julie A. Johnson as a firm member.

Baker & McKenzie elected Amy de La Lama, Maher H. Haddad, Miriam Geraghty Petrillo and Kristin E. Rice-Gonzalez as new partners.

Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg attorneys Nicholas H. Callahan, Joshua W. Mahoney and Jessica Heckinger Nowak have become partners in the firm.

Barnes & Thornburg has announced that Mark E. Rust, managing partner of the Chicago office, has been elected as the firm’s vice chair. Partners Michael A. Carrillo, William M. McErlean and Melissa Ann Vallone have been re-elected to the management committee.

Brennan Burtker has named Jonathan E. Cavins and Rachel S. Stern partners at the firm.

Brinks Gilson & Lione elected attorneys Mark H. Remus and Jason W. Schigelone as shareholders.

BuckleySandler promoted associates H. Joshua Kotin and Edward W. Somers to counsel.

Cray Huber Horstman Heil & VanAusdal has promoted Adam C. Carter, Aimee K. Lipkis, Kelly V. McHale and Scott D. Pfeiffer to partnership.

Dinsmore & Shohl selected partner Robert A. Lucas to chair the firm’s business, acquisitions and securities practice group and promoted Brittany E. Kirk to partner.

Donohue Brown Mathewson & Smyth named Laura M. Testa as partner.

Duane Morris named Andrea M. Augustine and Kevin M. Nelson as new firmwide division heads in the intellectual property practice group.

Faegre Baker Daniels admitted Shawn M. Doorhy to partnership.

Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery elected Conor S. Hunt and David A. Gosse as partners.

Foley & Lardner elevated Monica R. Chmielewski and Lauren M. Loew to partner.

Franczek Radelet named William R. Pokorny an equity partner and Nicole B. Bazer as income partner.

Giamanco & Ooink in Bolingbrook named Phyllis D. Roman a partner.

HeplerBroom elected James P. DuChateau, Kelly M. Libbra, Daniel C. Lytle, Gregory W. Odom II and Joshua C. Schumacher as partners.

Higgins Law Office elevated associate Michael R. Brancheau of the Naperville office to partnership. The firm will now be known as Higgins & Brancheau LLC.

Holland & Knight elevated Sameer V. Patel and Joshua M. Spencer, both of the business section, to partner from senior counsel.

Hoogendoorn & Talbot named John C. Lillig, corporate and litigation groups, as a partner.

Howard & Howard announced that Stephanie S. Buntin, Ellen E. Ernst, Robert W. Hernquist and Nolan A. Yaldo have all become shareholders.

Husch Blackwell elected Jennifer L. Dlugosz and Dominique Savinelli to partnership.

Jackson Lewis elevated attorney Jeffrey L. Rudd to principal.

Jenner & Block elected Michael G. Babbitt, Anthony B. Borich, Sarah E. Haddy, Precious S. Jacobs, Alexander J. May, Kate L. Price, Kristin L. Rakowski, Paul B. Rietema, Ashley M. Schumacher and Anna Barreiro Sutti to partnership.

Jones Day named of counsel Jeremy J. Gray and associates Kelly Marino Bonovich, Jessica L. Panza, Erin L. Shencopp and Beth D. Vogel to partnership.

Lavelle Law named Theodore M. McGinn as managing partner.

Levenfeld Pearlstein promoted Adam S. Garber, Christina E. Lutz, Linsey R. Neyt and Marc S. Zaslavsky to partner.

Marshall, Gerstein & Borun elected Andrew W. Bateman and Matthew R. Carey to partnership.

The Patterson Law Firm elevated Michael Demuri Haeberle to partner.

Schiff Hardin elected Diana Z. Bowman, Bina R. Joshi, David M. Loring, Henry Lee Mann, Lauren S. Novak and Matthew G. Schiltz as new partners.

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck named Claire R. McKenzie senior partner.

Simmons Hanly Conroy named Karoline B. Carstens, Warren Brent Copple, Kenneth P. Danzinger, Suvir Dhar, Ryan Dickherber, Michael Cody Favilla, John J. Foley, Courtney E. Harashe Gregory, Ryan J. Kiwala, Christopher J. Levy, John E. Richardson Jr. and Andrew S. Williams as shareholders.

Steptoe & Johnson elected Daniel S. Stringfield to be a firm partner.

Sugar Felsenthal Grais & Hammer elevated Michael A. Brandess to partner in the corporate restructuring and business transactions practice groups.

Swanson, Martin & Bell associates Andrew A. Lothson, Christian A. Sullivan and Michelle M. Wahl have been promoted to partner.

Taft Stettinius & Hollister elected Jonathan B. Amarilio and Kristine M. Kolky to partnership.

Tucker Ellis attorney Andrea Glinka Przybysz has been promoted to counsel.

Zulkie Partners elevated Susie S. Shin from associate to principal.


To A&G Law: member Robert H. Muriel from Muriel Law Offices and of counsel Arthur M. Scheller III from Drinker Biddle & Reath.

To Barnes & Thornburg: partner Lori L. Shannon, corporate department, from Drinker Biddle & Reath.

To Dinsmore & Shohl: Krysta K. Gumbiner, litigation department from Taft Stettinius & Hollister, and state Sen. Michael G. Connelly.

To Duane Morris: partner Robert E. Horwath Jr. from Locke Lord.

To Dussias Skallas Wittenberg: associate James Litzow, business law group.

To Dykema Gossett: member Bryan J. Johnson, litigation department, from Cozen O’Connor.

To FMS Law Group: partner Judge James G. Riley from the Cook County Probate Division.

To Greenberg Traurig: associate Kieron A. Frazier, public finance practice group, from DLA Piper in New York.

To Jenner & Block: partner George H. Pain from the Olin Corp.

To Lavelle Law: Vishal K. Chhabria, immigration law practice group

To Leavens Strand & Glover: of counsel Joseph Voss from Clark Hill.

To Lowis & Gellen: partner Andrew C. Warnecke from Bryan Cave, of counsel Terry D. Jeffrey from Patrick Engineering and of counsel Thomas P. Egan from Crowley & Lamb.

To Polsinelli: associates Abby E. Bonjean, health-care practice, from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights; Stephanie C. Saladino, health-care services practice; and Mary VanCleef, real estate practice.

To the Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law: Vice President of Advocacy Jennifer Riley-Collins from the American Civil Liberties Union of Mississippi.

To Tristan & Cervantes: associate Caroline Kane.

To Woodruff Johnson & Palermo: Jon C. Walker, Social Security disability department, from Katz Friedman, Eagle, Eisenstein, Johnson & Bareck.

To Zulkie Partners: associate Jenni Fenton.


Ice Miller associate Nicholas A. Casto, litigation and intellectual property group, has joined the Lawyers’ Assistance Program as an associate board member.

Beermann Pritikin Mirabelli Swerdlove business law partner Howard L. Teplinsky has been appointed chair of the Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission’s Inquiry Board panel.

Duane Morris partner Charles B. Lewis was elected as a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators.

Reed Smith intellectual property partner Keyonn Lavar Pope has been selected as the firm’s Leadership Council on Legal Diversity fellow for 2017.

Hinshaw & Culbertson attorney Raylene DeWitte Grischow has been appointed vice chair of the Illinois Supreme Court’s Committee on Professional Responsibility.

Romanucci & Blandin principal Antonio M. Romanucci has been reappointed vice chair to the Illinois Supreme Court Rules Committee.


Cook County Circuit Judge Debra B. Walker is the recipient of the 2017 National Conference of Bar Foundations Excellence Award.


Four former shareholders of Niro Law Ltd., Robert A. Vitale Jr., Paul K. Vickrey, Dean D. Niro and Arthur A. Gasey, have founded the new firm of Vitale, Vickrey, Niro and Gasey. Niro Law associates Oliver D. Yang, Gretchen L. Schmidt and Dylan M. Brown are also joining the new firm.