News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community


Beam Suntory announced that Kenton R. Rose, senior vice president, general counsel, chief administrative officer and secretary, will retire in December after 30 years with the company. Effective Jan. 1, Rose will be succeeded by Todd M. Bloomquist, who currently serves as the company’s vice president, deputy general counsel and assistant secretary.

Cunningham, Meyer & Vedrine elected Cynthia L. Ackelmire, Kipp B. Cornell and Sarah A. Rodak as partners.

Dale & Gensburg P.C. has recognized new shareholders Anthony Calandriello and Gary A. Kanter. The firm’s new name is Gensburg Calandriello & Kanter.

Peck Ritchey named Brandon E. Peck its newest partner.

Pircher, Nichols & Meeks promoted Ruth A. Schoenmeyer to partner.

Polsinelli promoted shareholders Gary E. Hood and Adam S. Weiss to vice chairs of the intellectual property department.

Schiff Hardin elected Marci A. Eisenstein to a third term as managing partner. The seven-member executive committee also includes new members Gabriel M. Rodriguez and Christine A. McGuinness out of New York.

Segal McCambridge Singer & Mahoney elected William R. Irwin, Matthew C. Jardine and Christopher K. Triska as new shareholders.


To Anderson, Rasor & Partners: associate Justin T. Evans from Kopon Airdo.

To Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa: associates David A. Johnson Jr., business law and transactions practice group, from Piccione Keeley & Associates Ltd. in Wheaton; and Michael S. Nelson, business law and transactions practice group, from the Law Offices of Joseph G. Howard.

To Baker & Hostetler: counsel Jason K. Zachary from Kirkland & Ellis.

To Clifford Law Offices: partner James C. Pullos from the Law Offices of Edward J. Kozel.

To Dinsmore & Shohl: partner Joseph A. Saltiel, intellectual property department, from Masuda Funai Eifert & Mitchell.

To Donohue Brown Mathewson & Smyth: associates Bradley E. Puklin from Scott, Halsted & Babetch and Curtiss S. Schreiber from Lowis & Gellen.

To Faegre Baker Daniels: counsel Julie K. Letwat, health-care and life sciences practices, from the American Medical Association.

To Fitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery: patent agent Thomas A. James from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

To Freeborn & Peters: partner Kenneth M. Crane, corporate practice group, from Perkins Coie and senior counsel Rita W. Garry, corporate practice group, from SmithAmundsen.

To Goldberg Segalla: partner Lisa M. Conforti from Mathison Whittles in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

To Gould & Ratner: associates Sevan V. Avakian, corporate practice group, from Axia Law, Seth W. Goettelman, corporate practice group, from Hyatt Hotels Corp, and Erika H. Jerwick, tax and wealth transfer practice group, from PricewaterhouseCoopers.

To Jones Day: partner Laura E. Bader, employee benefits and executive compensation practice, from Kirkland & Ellis.

To Kelley Drye & Warren: partner Steven Yovits, intellectual property practice group, from Mayer Brown.

To Kirkland & Ellis: partner Michael G. Falk, employee benefits and executive compensation, from Winston & Strawn.

To Latimer LeVay Fyock: partner Richard A. Saldinger from Shaw Fishman Glantz & Towbin.

To Levin Schreder & Carey: Matt Matheson from Riggs, Abney, Neal, Turpen, Orbison & Lewis in Oklahoma.

To Locke Lord: senior counsel Michael Mannion.

To McAndrews, Held & Malloy: associate Shaun Zhang from HP Inc.

To McDermott Will & Emery: partner Gregory R. Metz, corporate and transactional practice group, from Ropes & Gray.

To Momkus McCluskey Roberts: partners David A. Newby from Johnson & Newby and Stacey A. McCullough from the Law Office of Stacey A. McCullough in Wheaton.

To Quarles & Brady: partner Jennifer L. Sucher to its bankruptcy, restructuring and creditor’s rights practice group, from GE Capital.

To Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan: partner Lazar P. Raynal from McDermott Will & Emery.

To Schoenberg Finkel Newman & Rosenberg: associate Ehren M. Fournier from Foley & Lardner.

To SmithAmundsen: of counsel William L. Scogland, labor and employment practice group, from Jenner & Block; and partner James F. Hendricks Jr., labor and employment practice group, from Litchfield Cavo.

To Taft Stettinius & Hollister: Patrick N. Wartan, food and beverage practice chair, from Axia Law; associates Jordan L. Bass, real estate practice group, from Seyfarth Shaw; Brian C. Eaton, technology practice group; Megan M. Okun, private client practice group, from Mayer Brown; and Anne Yonover, litigation practice group, from the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

To Vedder Price: shareholder Daniel B. Lange, executive compensation and employee benefits group, from Dentons.


Akerman data law practice co-chair Martin T. Tully has been appointed to the Sedona Conference Working Group 1 steering committee on Electronic Document Retention and Production (WG-1).

Beermann Pritikin Mirabelli Swerdlove divorce and family law partner James B. Pritikin has been appointed to serve as a hearing chair for the Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission. The position started on March 1 and will run until further order. This appointment marks the beginning of his 18th year with the ARDC.

Law Office of Jill M. Webb principal Jill M. Webb has been appointed to serve on the board of the Professional Women’s Club of Chicago and is co-chair of its special events committee.

Locke Lord partner Bilal Zaheer has been selected as a member of the 2017 Fellows Program for the Leadership Council on Legal Diversity.

Bruce R. Pfaff, founding shareholder of Pfaff, Gill & Ports, has become a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, a national association of attorneys.

Stephan D. Blandin, a personal injury attorney at Romanucci & Blandin, was recently appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court to another one-year term on an Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission Hearing Board.


Banner & Witcoff selected University of Alabama School of Law student Moriah S. Smoot as the 2017 recipient of the Donald W. Banner Diversity Scholarship for law students.

Banner & Witcoff shareholders Robert H. Resis and Michael J. Harris were recognized in the BTI Client Service All-Stars 2017 for IP litigation.

John Marshall Law School professor Lurene M. Contento was presented with a 2017 Global Legal Skills Award at the 2017 Global Legal Skills Conference in Monterrey, Mexico.

Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg attorney Jill B. Berkeley, chair of the insurance policyholder practice group and partner in the general and commercial litigation group, was awarded the first Lifetime Achievement Award by the American Bar Association’s Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section’s Insurance Coverage Litigation Committee.

Quarles & Brady partner Janice E. Rodgers was honored for her work representing and advising nonprofit organizations, including private and public foundations by the Chicago Foundation for Women.


DLA Piper moved its Chicago office to River Point, a 52–story office tower at 444 W. Lake St., facing the Chicago River.

LeClairRyan, a national firm, has expanded into Illinois, opening an office in at 111 W. Jackson Blvd.

O’Mara, Gleason and O’Callaghan has moved its offices to 230 W. Monroe St.


The Illinois Supreme Court appointed Bradford A. Rau Sr. resident circuit judge for Moultrie County, 6th Judicial Circuit. The vacancy was created by the retirement of judge Dan L. Flannell.