News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community


Anderson, Rasor & Partners elected associates Brad Ryan Schneiderman and Jillian F. Taylor to partnership.

Cassiday Schade elected Michael P. Moothart, Ronald E. Neroda and Margaret A. Shipitalo to partnership.

Foley & Lardner announced Frank E. Pasquesi will become managing partner of the Chicago office. He will succeed Myles D. Berman, who has served as managing partner since 2012.

Greenberg Traurig elevated Michael R. Cedillos, Barry R. Horwitz and Thomas C. Smith to shareholder and Adam S. Braun and Lea K. Rosenthal to of counsel.

Quarles & Brady named partner Kevin A. Delorey as national chair of the real estate practice group, while partner Derek T. Neathery will assume the role of vice chair. Delorey succeeds Diane M. Haller, who has served as chair of the group since 2011.

Ropes & Gray promoted Timothy A. Castelli to the position of counsel in the private equity practice group.

SmithAmundsen promoted attorneys Thomas H. Hayden III, Yesha Sutaria Hoeppner and Kaylea H. Weiler to partner.


To Akerman: John J. George, Kathleen A. Duncan and Chris A. Leach from Roche & Crisham and Meg E. George from Neal & Leroy.

To Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa: associate Mark A. Swantek, insurance coverage practice group, from Nicolaides Fink Thorpe Michaelides Sullivan.

To Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg: associates Kelsey D. Shulan, real estate group, from Polsinelli and Edward M. Thiele, real estate group, from Proskauer Rose.

To Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd: associate John O. Leahy from Sidley Austin.

To Benesch: partners David S. Almeida and Manish K. Mehta and associate Mark S. Eisen, all from Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton and associate Nick Larry from Edelson.

To Culhane Meadows: partners Jamal M. Edwards, Elissa L. Isaacs and Stephen O’Donnell, all from Steptoe & Johnson, Steven H. Shapiro from Krasnow Saunders Kaplan & Beninati and Michelle Ware Skinner from Thompson Coburn.

To Dinsmore & Shohl: partner Daniel R. Flynn, environmental practice group, from Leech Tishman Fuscaldo & Lampl.

To Donohue Brown Mathewson & Smyth: associates Erin V. Calandriello, product and professional liability practices, from the Law Office of Martin L. Glink, and Kyle A. Cooper.

To Dussias Skallas Wittenberg: named partner Michael F. Koenigsberger and associates Theresa M. Lechner and Judd Z. Fineberg, all from Grund & Leavitt. The firm will now be known as Dussias Skallas Wittenberg Koenigsberger.

To Freeborn & Peters: partner Thomas F. Bush Jr., litigation practice and insurance/reinsurance industry groups, from Locke Lord.

To Greenberg Traurig: shareholder Kevin D. Finger, litigation practice group, from DLA Piper.

To Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale: officer Harris L. Kay, securities and financial services industry group, from Greenberg Traurig; officer Daniel C. McCabe, litigation practice group, from McCabe, Miller & Morrissey; and associate Ryan J. Yager, intellectual property practice group.

To Johnson & Bell: shareholder Patricia A. Ryan from American Overseas Group.

To Loeb & Loeb: partners attorneys Joseph J. Duffy and Corey B. Rubenstein, litigation department, from Stetler, Duffy & Rotert.

To McDonald Hopkins: associate Cody Wamsley, data privacy and cybersecurity practice group, from American Express.

To Michael Best & Friedrich: senior counsel William A. Carroll, intellectual property group, from Brinks Gilson & Lione.

To Much Shelist: principal David M. Pilotto, business and finance practice group, from Lathrop & Gage.

To Neal, Gerber Eisenberg: partners Linda Lemel Hoseman, employee benefits and executive compensation practice group, from Thompson Coburn, and Seth J. Pritikin, corporate and securities practice group, from Kirkland & Ellis.

To Polsinelli: shareholders Michael Ostermeyer and Karen DaCosta Perzan, real estate practice group, from Quarles & Brady.

To Quintairos, Prieto, Wood & Boyer: of counsel Juan R. Thomas from The Thomas Law Group.

To Reed Smith: partner William J. Lewis from Vedder Price.

To Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton: partners Katherine McAvoy Gillespie, Laurette Petersen and Andrew W. Ratts, energy, infrastructure and project finance group, and special counsel Katarzyna Levecke, all from Winston & Strawn.

To Taft Stettinius & Hollister: of counsel Sylvia C. Michas, real estate group, from Chico & Nunes.


Gary L. Gassman, a member of the insurance practice at Cozen O’Connor, has been elected as diversity officer for the American Bar Association Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section for the August 2017 to August 2019 term.

Richard D. Felice, past president of the Illinois State Bar Association, was installed as board of directors chair for ISBA Mutual Insurance Co.

Schiff Hardin attorney Christine R.W. Quigley has been elected a fellow of the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel, an association of credentialed trust and estate lawyers.

Segal McCambridge Singer & Mahoney shareholder Chad J. Layton has been selected as a Claims and Litigation Management Alliance’s Greater Chicago chapter board member.

Attorneys’ Title Guaranty Fund Inc. reappointed Aurora N. Austriaco of Valentine Austriaco & Buesche, James M. Grant of James M. Grant Law Offices, Murphy C. Hart, of Hart & Hart, John M. Huetsch of Mon-Clair Title Co. and sole practitioner Jonathan P. Sherry to its board of directors for three-year terms. In addition, subsidiary ATG Trust Co. has appointed sole practitioner Steven K. Norgaard as board of directors chair and Patrick D. Owens of Di Monte & Lizak as a board director.


Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa member Julie A. Johnson was selected to receive The Chicago Bar Association’s 2017 Alta May Hulett Award.

Keith J. Shapiro, co-chairman of Greenberg Traurig and co-chair of the restructuring and bankruptcy practice, received Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal’s Distinguished Service Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Salvi, Schostok & Pritchard managing equity partner Patrick A. Salvi and his wife, Lindy, have been named recipients of the 2017 Leonardo da Vinci Award of Excellence by the Order Sons of Italy in America, Grand Lodge of Illinois/Wisconsin for their work with Salvi Sports Enterprises.

Ropes & Gray government enforcement partner Ryan J. Rohlfsen and associates Timothy R. Farrell and Dante A. Roldan have been awarded a 2017 Distinguished Legal Writing Award through the Burton Awards for “The Pilot Program in Practice: A Comparison of Pre- and Post-Program Resolutions,” published by The FCPA Report in July 2016.


Tamari Law Group moved its main Chicago office to the entire 29th floor of 33 N. LaSalle St.