News and notes from the legal community

News and notes from the legal community
October 2017


Lathrop Gage appointed Courtney M. Landon as chief operating officer. He joined the firm in 2016 as chief financial officer.

Momkus McCluskey Roberts in Lisle recently named attorney Lauryn Elizabeth Parks its newest partner.


To Chicago Legal Search: legal search consultant David L. Bowman from Consumer Law Group and legal staffing consultant Nicholas Holzkopf from McCalla Raymer Leibert Pierce.

To Chittenden, Murday & Novotny: associate Richard M. Poskozim, business litigation practice.

To Dussias Skallas Wittenberg Koenigsberger: partner Pepi Camerlingo from Avery Camerlingo Kill.

To Dykema Gossett: member Cynde H. Munzer, corporate finance practice group, from Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa.

To Foran Glennon Palandech Ponzi & Rudloff: Traci Ribeiro and James Baffa, both from Sedgwick.

To Goldberg Segalla: associate Meghan P. Murray, workers’ compensation practice group, from Brady, Connolly & Masuda.

To Ice Miller: of counsel Alice A. Kelly and associate Shyla N. Jones, both intellectual property group, both from Norvell IP.

To JAMS: retired judge Nancy J. Katz.

To Jenner & Block: partner Michael T. Wolf, mergers and acquisitions and securities practices, from Aon. He was a partner with Jenner & Block from 2003 to 2014.

To Kaplan & Company: of counsel Joshua Matz.

To Lathrop Gage: of counsel Julie Nichols Matthews from Parker Ibrahim & Berg.

To Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith: partner Mary A. Smigielski, employment and labor practice, from the Law Department of Sears Holdings Corp.

To Michael Best & Friedrich: partner James P. Fieweger, litigation practice group, from Falkenberg Fieweger & Ives.

To Momkus McCluskey Roberts: associate Josette C. Allen, Lisle office, from solo practice.

To Much Shelist: principal Camille N. Khodadad, labor and employment practice group, from Hall Prangle & Schoonveld.

To Polsinelli: shareholder William M. Long from McGuireWoods.

To Reed Smith: partner David P. Dorner, state tax practice, from Vedder Price.

To Roetzel & Andress: associate Saman Sedaei, business litigation practice group, from Foran Glennon Palandech Ponzi & Rudloff.

To Taft Stettinius & Hollister: partner Carrie A. Hall, litigation group, from Michael Best & Friedrich.


Burke, Warren, MacKay & Serritella partner Adam R. Jung has been appointed to the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign’s Chicago Athletics Advisory Board.

Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd partner Randi L. Ellias has been named American Bar Association TIPS Excess Surplus Lines and Reinsurance General Committee vice chair.

Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd partner Daniel A. Cotter has been named to the American Constitution Society, Chicago lawyer chapter’s board of directors.

Novack and Macey partner Mitchell L. Marinello was named co-chair of the American Bar Association’s Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee for the 2017–2018 bar year.

Novack and Macey partner and co-chair of the energy practice group Stephen J. Siegel has been reappointed the American Bar Association Section of Litigation division director for the 2017–2018 bar year. This will be his ninth year serving in sectional leadership.

The following officers of The Society of Trial Lawyers have been installed: William J. Rogers of Swanson, Martin & Bell, president; Steven M. Levin of Levin & Perconti, vice president; Michele C. Anderson of Hall Prangle & Schoonveld, secretary; and Francis P. Morrissey of Burke Wise Morrissey Kaveny, treasurer. John M. Power of Cogan & Power, Jerry A. Latherow of Latherow & Duignan and Thomas R. Hill of Smith Blake Hill will remain on the board of directors while David C. Burtker of Cunningham Meyer & Vedrine, Brian C. Fetzer of Johnson & Bell and Elizabeth A. Kaveny of Burke Wise Morrissey Kaveny were announced as new members.


Katten Muchin Rosenman government and public finance partner Chad R. Doobay has been selected as part of the Emerging Leaders Class of 2018 by the Chicago Council on Global Affairs.


Chuhak & Tecson will expand its presence on the East Coast by launching its first New Jersey office in Totowa. The new location is a result of the firm’s affiliation with Weltman & Moskowitz.

Cozen O’Connor added a new practice area to its Denver office as well as Jacob M. Rubinstein, former executive director of employee and labor relations at the University of Chicago, as a member.

Levin Ginsburg has a new privacy and data security practice group, which will be chaired by partner Natalie A. Remien and will include associate Kristen E. O’Neill.

Law Schools

David A. Hughes, partner in the state and local tax group at Horwood Marcus & Berk, was named adjunct professor at the LLM tax program at Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law.

The Illinois Bar Foundation has awarded its 2017 Post Graduate Legal Fellowship Program grants to law school clinics at DePaul University College of Law, Loyola University Chicago School of Law and Northern Illinois University College of Law. The 2017 participants are Mallory Morgan, a graduate of DePaul University College of Law; Caitlin A. Kelly, Loyola University Chicago School of Law; and Ryan Lowe, Northern Illinois University College of Law.

Zachary T. Fardon, managing partner and head of litigation for the Chicago office of King & Spalding and former U.S. attorney for the Northern District of Illinois, will be joining Northwestern Pritzker School of Law as a visiting distinguished scholar for the 2017-18 academic year.


The Illinois Supreme Court appointed Charles S. Beach II as circuit judge of the 6th Subcircuit in Cook County.

Circuit judges of the 16th Judicial Circuit in Kane County have appointed Sandra T. Parga as an associate judge.

Circuit judges of the 18th Judicial Circuit in DuPage County have appointed Christine T. Cody as associate judge.