Chicago Lawyer -

News and notes from the legal community

September 01, 2017
By Chicago Lawyer


Anesi, Ozmon, Rodin, Novak & Kohen added Michael L. Teich, Brian D. Teven and Jennifer J.C. Kelly to its partnership.

Boodell & Domanskis named Audra Pavilcius Karalius a member.

Chuhak & Tecson elevated Michael D. Leifman and Margaret M. Walsh from staff attorneys to associates.

Ginsberg Jacobs’ David A. Lapins has been named to the firm’s equity partnership, while Karen Halm-Lutterodt has been promoted to income partner.

Hinshaw & Culbertson elected Yvette Boutaugh of Belleville and Jeffrey R. Hoskins of Rockford as partners.

Kelley Drye & Warren promoted Michael R. Dover and Constantine Koutsoubas to new special counsel.

Lathrop Gage announced that Bryan E. Minier has been selected by the firm’s executive committee to serve as partner-in-charge.

McDermott Will & Emery has announced that partner Todd A. Solomon is the new global leader of the employee benefits practice.

Michael Best & Friedrich named Michael D. Bess of the litigation practice group, Michelle E. Kouba of the intellectual property practice group and Benjamin T. Johnson of the labor and employment relations practice group as partners.

Morgan, Lewis & Bockius elected Scott D. Sherwin to partner effective Oct. 1.

Much Shelist elected Steven P. Blonder, a principal in the litigation and dispute resolution practice group, to serve on the management committee. Marissa L. Downs, a member of the litigation and dispute resolution practice group, was also elevated from associate to principal. Courtney E. Mayster has been elevated from vice chair to co-chair of the real estate law practice group. The firm also named Kevin M. Noonan vice chair of the wealth transfer and succession planning practice group.

Stellato & Schwartz named Joshua J. Muench as partner effective July 1.

Strauss & Malk in Northbrook elevated David I. Feldman from counsel to partner in the litigation practice group.

Tressler elected Kathryn A. Formeller and Ryan S. Taylor as new partners.


To ADR Systems: retired judge Edward Washington II.

To Anesi Ozmon Rodin Novak & Kohen: associates Adam M. Gilbert and Lisa M. Ciharan, personal-injury department.

To Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg: partner Kate E. Kim, motor vehicle group, from Squire Patton Boggs in Tokyo.

To Boodell & Domanskis: of counsel Carole Randolph Jurkash from DTZ Americas Inc.

To Clausen Miller: partner Anthony R. Ficarelli from Hinshaw & Culbertson.

To Donohue Brown Mathewson & Smyth: associate Jack A. Battaglia.

To Epstein Becker Green: member Brian E. Spang, employment, labor and workforce management practice, from McGuireWoods.

To Gould & Ratner: associate Philip P. Piecuch, real estate practice, from Bronson & Kahn.

To Greensfelder Hemker & Gale: Susan Meyer, Richard C. Himelhoch and Joseph A. Fuchs, all from Nixon Peabody.

To Heyl Royster Voelker & Allen: of counsel A. Anthony Ashenhurst, health-care practice in the Peoria office, from UnityPoint Health.

To Howard & Howard: Ariane M. Janz.

To Jenner & Block: partner Emily Petrovic Li from Mayer Brown.

To K&L Gates: partner David D. Dueno, private equity practice group, from Quantum Global Group.

To Kelley Kronenberg: Ian T. Whitney from Knell O’Connor Danielewicz.

To Levinson and Stefani: associate Tiffannie Kennedy from Kennedy Law Firm in Kansas City, Mo.

To Mayer Brown: counsel Jay A. Kallas, global insurance industry group and corporate and securities practice, from Drinker Biddle & Reath.

To Perkins Coie: partner Jason M. Quintana, mergers and acquisitions practice, from Boeing.

To Polsinelli: shareholder Jeffrey A. Goldman from Dykema Gossett, associate David E. Isaacson from Littler Mendelson and associate Matthew J. Kelly from the Law Office of Barbara M. Demos.

To Potestivo & Associates: associate Chandray Strong from Caroline J. Smith & Associates.

To Schiff Hardin: partner Susan T. Bart, private clients, trusts and estates group, from Sidley Austin.

To Schoenberg, Finkel, Newman & Rosenberg: partner James D. Voigt from Lavelle Law.

To Strauss & Malk: counsel Samantha Weissbluth, litigation practice group.

To Taft Stettinius & Hollister: partner Eugene F. Zelek Jr., business and finance group, from Freeborn & Peters.

To Tarpey Wix: partner Matthew M. Showel as a partner from Burke Burns & Pinelli.

To Tomasik Kotin Kasserman: of counsel James P. McKay Jr. from the Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office.

To Tressler: partner Stephanie Donovan from the Illinois State Board of Education.

To Winston & Strawn: partners Joseph S. Adams, Nancy S. Gerrie, Amy M. Gordon, Erin A. Kartheiser, William W. Merten, Susan M. Nash and Susan Peters Schaefer, all employee benefits and executive compensation practice, all from McDermott Will & Emery.


Butler Rubin Saltarelli & Boyd associate Debra K. Lefler has been elected to the First Defense Legal Aid’s board of directors.

The Constitutional Rights Foundation Chicago appointed Kathleen Miller, current interim executive director, to executive director.

Retired Cook County circuit judge Wayne D. Rhine was elected to a one-year term as president of the Northern Illinois Civil War Round Table.

Romanucci & Blandin founding partner and principal Antonio M. Romanucci was nominated as second vice president by the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association.

Schiff Hardin partner Patricia Costello Slovak and Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom partner Gretchen M. Wolf were elected to the board of directors of the Chicago Foundation for Women.

Tomasik Kotin Kasserman partner Shawn S. Kasserman has been elected president of Kids in Danger.

Foley & Lardner partner Zaldwaynaka L. Scott was appointed to the screening committee for the Northern District of Illinois judiciary.


The Kane County Law Library and Self Help Legal Center staff — including Director Halle Cox, Cynthia Lorenzo and Ellen Schmid — were recognized as this year’s recipients of the Liberty Bell Award during the Kane County Bar Association’s annual dinner at the Fisherman’s Inn in Elburn on June 7.

Lake County State’s Attorney Michael G. Nerheim was named the 2017 State’s Attorney of the Year for the second time by the Illinois State Crime Commission at an award ceremony on June 21.

Vincent F. Cornelius, past president of the Illinois State Bar Association president and founder of The Law Office of Vincent F. Cornelius in Joliet, was honored at the ISBA/Illinois Bar Foundation joint President’s Reception.

Ropes & Gray was recognized by Yale Law Women in its annual listing of firms that have “demonstrated superior performance in specific categories of family friendliness.”

Salvi, Schostok & Pritchard chairman and managing equity partner Patrick A. Salvi and managing partner Patrick A. Salvi II have been selected to the 2017 Lawdragon 500 Leading Lawyers in America.


Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn is moving its office to 155 N. Wacker Drive, effective Dec. 1.

Attorney Elizabeth Felt Wakeman announced the formation of Wakeman Law Group. in Crystal Lake.

Kaufman & Co., a national trial litigation boutique firm, has opened a Chicago office.


Chief Judge Craig H. DeArmond of the 5th Judicial Circuit has been assigned as an appellate court justice in the 4th Judicial District, effective Sept. 1 until further order of the court.

© 2017 Law Bulletin Media

Unless you receive express permission from Law Bulletin Media, you may not copy, reproduce, distribute, publish, enter into a database, display, perform, modify, create derivative works, or in any way exploit the content of Law Bulletin Media’s websites, except that you may download one copy of material or print one copy of material for personal interest only. You may not distribute any part of Law Bulletin Media’s content over any network nor offer it for sale, nor use it for any other commercial purpose.